Weekends

048This weekend, Winter arrived and planted itself firmly in the middle of Autumn. With temps at zero and a biting wind, thick coats have been worn, scarves and gloves too and the cold brought a whole new meaning to the words ‘cosy’ and ‘home’.

It is this time of year when I feel most grateful for a roof over our heads, warmth, food in our bellies and when I simply cannot begin to imagine how life is without these basic things.

I feel grateful this weekend too, for our good old NHS, without which, my dad would not be recovering well in hospital from knee replacement surgery. He is so resilient, looks really well and has made friends with everyone on the ward!

I also appear to have been infected with Christmas spirit this weekend and I am very much looking forward to time off with my family and a few nights out with friends over the coming weeks. Gifts {not all} have been purchased and I cannot wait to get the decorations out from the loft. Are you looking forward to the festive season? What is your favourite part?

My favourite things are twinkle lights, looking at all the decorations we have bought over the years {and the memories they hold} and of course time with loved ones.

I hope you have had a lovely weekend and wish you a great week ahead!

Sharing my weekend with Karen at Pumpkin Sunrise, such a warm and lovely place to visit.

 

10 thoughts on “Weekends

  1. Jane, it’s so good to read that your dad is recovering well from his surgery. I am not surprised that he is making friends with everyone, I bet he is as lovely as you are! 🙂 Yes, I am also ready for the holidays to begin. My favorite part is having my girls’ all home under one roof, and the traditions the holiday brings: watching “It’s a Wonderful Life” on Christmas Eve as well as reading (even now, when they’re in their 20’s!) “The Night Before Christmas”. Twinkly lights galore, and the scent of fresh cut evergreens! It’s my most favorite time of the year. ❤

  2. Thank you Grace, he is coming out of hospital tomorrow and will stay with us until he feels ready to go home. Yes, to ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’, what a film that is. We watched it last Christmas Eve with our son and he loved it! Have a great week xx

  3. Hi Jane, love your little lanterns, so cute. We have snow here, a storm yesterday and today all white outside. Hope your father recovers fast. Have a great week!

    1. Thanks Elizabeth…I bought the lights last year from Etsy and they are so lovely. I hope you are keeping warm where you are, sounds like you have some bad weather. Wishing you a great week xx

  4. Best news, to hear dad is recovering!
    I love Christmas too! Today’s frost and yesterday’s snow at my Mom’s really put me in the mood.
    I, too, have many memories associated with our decorations & ornaments. I feel like it’s a story opening the box. I’m just waiting for December to get my house all festive. I don’t like to start too early as I feel it takes a bit of the ‘special’ feeling away.

    Have a great week – stay warm 🙂

    1. He is doing great Connie, thanks. He is home with us for this week and says he hopes to go back to his house at the weekend, we will see how he goes.

      Nothing like a bit of snow to put you in the festive mood! I will think of you now when I open my box of ornaments. You have a good week to! xx

  5. so glad your dad has good care and is mending, that is so important. I loved reading what you are thankful for, and I can echo so much of what you say. I wish it would snow here, but I’ve been in the spirit of the season since I’m knitting for many people.

Your thoughts are always welcome...

