November

016

A little hello from me, as the final day of November winds down and we prepare to move into the last month of the year.

I haven’t posted here on a Friday, as I usually do, for a couple of weeks now and I have missed that, but life has been busier than usual {you know…I know you do} with my dad staying with us after his operation {he is doing great} and preparing for Christmas.

I will enter December with a heaviness in my heart, this Christmas will be the first in 47 years without my mum, but I know she would not want us all to have a miserable time. I have the most wonderful memories of Christmas’ past and my mum just loved the house full at this time of year. She would not want us to be sad, so we will do our best, raise a glass to her and enjoy the day as if she were with us {she will be with us}.

We purchased our Christmas tree at the weekend, it’s a lovely little thing; just the right size and has been decorated simply with lights and special ornaments. I love sitting in the lounge in the evening and watching the lights twinkle…balm for the soul.

Today saw the beginning of Just Five Things from Michelle, a wonderful, grounding  and glorious ten days of lists, words and general loveliness…I am going to savour it.

I do hope you are well, how are your Christmas plans going? Do you have your tree? I’d love to know.

Have a great week x

11 thoughts on “November

  1. I love your tree – the photo is just perfect!
    We put ours up yesterday…just twinkle lights and special ornaments too! I am pulling out recipes and will be baking soon. I love how the house smells with those special Christmastime spices!
    It is good to hear your dad is progressing. I know you will miss your mom, but focus on the happy memories. If she is anything like mine, she would not be please at sad faces over the holidays.
    Have a great week 🙂 Connie xo

  2. I’m holding you in prayer. I lost my mom when I was 34 (18 years ago!!) and not a day goes by that I do not think about her in some fashion. The missing never goes away but the heaviness does, I promise.

  3. Sending you so much love, Jane. As Karen says, the heaviness does eventually fade away. My dad has been gone for 20 years and not a day goes by that I don’t think of him. I find great comfort in knowing he is always by my side. The first Christmas is the hardest but your mum will be with you {she always is} and showering your family with her love.

    So glad your dad is doing well. My house is decorated, the presents are bought. On Friday I leave for a beautiful trip down the Danube. I am so grateful to my friend for inviting me along on this cruise that she won. When I come home it will be just a few days until my youngest arrives home from Jordan. I can hardly wait, it’s been nearly a year since we last saw her! xx

    1. Thank you for such kind words, Grace…you are such a beautiful person. Wow, what a wonderful trip and a great friend, sure you ladies will have a fabulous time!! A year, I can see there is going to be a lot of hugging going on in your house really soon!! Have a wonderful time on the Danube. Much love xx

    1. Thank you so much for your kindness, Michelle. I have such a mix of emotions, as I love Christmas, but at the same time feel a little guilty when I get the festive feeling. I have decided I just need to go with how I feel, as it is clearly still part of the grieving process and necessary xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

