Here & now

img_0468For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.
~ T. S. Eliot

On this second day of 2017 I am feeling a little more positive than I have done in a while. Truth be known, I just feel that 2016 was a {sort of} wasted year. Don’t get me wrong there have been some fantastic times for which I am very grateful, but it just felt like a year in which I didn’t embrace the good things quite so heartily as I should have done. Basically, I felt off balance.

Therefore, this year ‘BALANCE’ is going to be my word. I am going to keep what makes me happy and filter out the things that do not…now that sounds like a plan! I intend to write more this year too, as that really seemed to go on the back-burner last year.

What do you want your year to look like? Whatever shape it takes I hope that it will be a good one.

Here’s to endings and beginnings and to the things that make us happy!

{I am so thankful for my online friendships and look forward to them continuing in this new year xx}

 

9 thoughts on “Here & now

  1. Jane, I am so happy to read that you are going to write more! I have missed your voice so much! Balance is a beautiful word, one that is constantly foremost in my mind. Like you, I don’t think I will miss 2016 and am looking forward to this new year. I hope that you find 2017 to be a year of contentment and light! xoxo

    1. Glasses raised dear Grace to a year of balance and joy!! I am looking forward to putting pen to paper more this year. I look forward also to seeing where your wonderful art takes you this year too! xx

  2. Dear Jane, love that you are journaling too, it’s so gratifying. 2016 went by fast, many things happened and I let many opportunites go away, so my word ‘brave’ for 2017. Looking forward to keep up with our friendship too. Hugs and love your way!

  3. Such a beautiful quote Jane, and reading lots of people’s New Year Posts today it seems that many people are striving for better balance after feeling off-kilter last year. It is lovely to hear that you are feeling more positive, and I look forward to hearing from you more in the year ahead. May 2017 be kind, and balanced, for you and your family x

  4. Jane,
    Best Wishes for a New Year of Writing! I always enjoy checking into your quiet thoughts. May it truly be a time of balance for you!. I too will need a lot of balance this year. My kids remind me that I often preached that concept to them in their growing up years. Now I’ll have to find and hang on to that in a new way, for not only is this a new year, but the start of a new life for me. My dear husband of 57 years passed away unexpectedly 10 days before Christmas. Once this busy season of farewell is over, I’ll be writing a lot too. Writing to find my way through this huge loss and change.

    JoMae…. And thanks for the T.S. Eliot quote!

    1. JoMae, I am honoured that you read my blog and you are welcome here any time. I am truly sorry for your loss, how uttetly heartbreaking. I cannot begin to imagine how you feel right now, but wish you the time to grieve and to heal. Please take care, Jane xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

