here & now

img_9032I am sat alone in the quiet with the swish of traffic outside and an every-now-and-then sigh from the dog. There is the promise of a bright October day slowly emerging through the grey.

There is a week off work sprawling before me like an unfamiliar and exciting landscape {do you like the drama I am creating there??}. The reality may not be quite so exciting, but I am going to make the most of it, not matter what.

Lately, I have been reflecting on how life changes, new habits and ways of being slip in, almost unnoticed. As my son gets older he wants more time on his own and while I totally get this I have still found it hard at times. Then, I remember the 16 nearly 17 year old me and I get it even more. He needs time alone, not because he doesn’t want to be with us, he needs time alone because that is healthy. So, I have decided that I am not going to worry I just need to let it be.

I have finished this book {eventually!}. A thoroughly enjoyable and unusual read that made me cry and had me fascinated, too. I have just started reading this and am enjoying it so far. The characters are interesting, both living and dead, and I look forward to reading more.

This weekend I am planning to make this. I made a golden syrup cake last weekend and it was delicious and like the recipe says, it really does improve with age.

How is your here & now, I would love to know?

4 thoughts on “here & now

  1. I think your feelings are the beginnings of knowing he is growing up and will be moving on in a few years. It is difficult to let them be. Every time my son was quiet I thought something was wrong (there wasn’t). He was fine. Hang in there as he continues to mature and you let go 🙂 🙂

    1. Thank you Karen for your words and your understanding, it means a lot to me to feel that I am not alone navigating being a mum during changes such as this. I am so glad I know you. Happy Sunday xx

  2. Jane, I remember so well the pulling away of the girls once they became teenagers. Suddenly I was no longer their favorite confidante, and it seemed that I no longer spoke their language or could possibly understand what they were going through. 🙂 It does pass, however, and as you so eloquently write it is a necessary step towards independence. I’m so glad you had this week off; I hope you spent some of it spoiling yourself! Love you, dear friend! xx

    1. It is all so much a part of the natural process, but so good to feel that you know exactly how it feels. I have had a great week off, just wish it was two!! Love you, too xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

