Sunday silence

028{no. 12}

Capturing the essence of stillness, quiet, peace or contentment {in one image}…

Join me if you wish? #sundaysilence

I have to share this Poem by Muriel Stuart, as it reminds me so much of my mum…

The Seed-Shop

Here in a quiet and dusty room they lie,
Faded as crumbled stone or shifting sand,
Forlorn as ashes, shrivelled, scentless, dry –
Meadows and gardens running through my hand.

In this brown husk a dale of hawthorn dreams;
A cedar in this narrow cell is thrust
That will drink deeply of a century’s streams;
These lilies shall make summer on my dust.

Here in their safe and simple house of death,
Sealed in their shells, a million roses leap;
Here I can blow a garden with my breath,
And in my hand a forest lies asleep.

 

9 thoughts on “Sunday silence

  1. such a lovely poem 🙂 thank you for sharing it with me, I mean us.. I love notebooks and books and spend lots of time writing in one while pondering another. For me books are soothing 🙂

    1. It is such a sweet poem, Karen. Books are very soothing, knowing there is so much inside them to discover and as for notebooks, well…you can never have too many! I hope you are having a good week xx

  2. Jane, this is such a lovely poem, I am so glad you shared it with us. I hope your weekend was a good one? It has been humid and hot here in the states, I hope the weather is cooler in Yorkshire! xx

    1. It is such a sweet poem Grace, isn’t it! Last weekend was great thanks and it is so nice being off work this week despite the horrid weather we are having. Hope it has cooled down for you xx

      1. It has, Jane! Today was lovely. How wonderful to have a week off! Have you done anything special?

      2. Glad it has cooled off. We haven’t done anything particularly special, but it is nice not to have to rush around, I like the slower pace. It is lovely to have time with my son just relaxing. My husband has worked, but he has the weekend off. How is your husband doing? Is his back healing well? J xx

      3. Rob is doing really well. He sees a physical therapist twice a week and is adjusting pretty well to the rigor of his daily commute. His back gets stiff at times and the doctor has told him he can’t golf or kayak this summer but he tries to stay positive and keeps his eye on the future. Thank you for asking! ❤

Your thoughts are always welcome...

