here & now

009…I have just returned from a lovely walk {and some much needed me time} in the park with Trevor. The evening sun was a delight and it felt so good to be out in the fresh air surrounded by greenery. I love my job, it is interesting and varied, but sometimes being mostly in an office makes me feel a little claustrophobic. The walks feel so necessary sometimes.

…there is a smile on my face as I chew sour jellies and I am reminded of my mum’s face a few years ago when I gave her one to try. Memories are such wonderful things, aren’t they. By the way, she didn’t like them.

…I feel connected with my friends and a need to nurture that, to make more time to see them.

…the shower is calling me and much as I hate washing {well drying and straightening} my thick and unruly hair, I love the feel of it when it is all done.

…the drink I am enjoying most is apple & cinnamon tea.

How is your here & now? I hope it is filled with little gems.

6 thoughts on “here & now

  1. I love the idea of you and your mom, with memories. I think as time goes by we can gather and snatch up the good bits and leave behind the sad bits. My here and now is lots of adjusting meds I’m currently on to control my RA. It’s been a rough week but hopefully I’ll be feeling better 🙂

    1. Karen, I am so sorry to hear that you are having a rough week. I really hope you can get your meds sorted and the pain under control. Sending you a hug, my dear.

      Yes, nearly a year and a half after my mum’s death, I am feeling more able to remember good things and feel less sad.

      Take care xx

  2. Jane, as I was reading your post last night I was sitting at a restaurant waiting for two dear friends who I had not seen in a while. Yes to nurturing your friendships. I know how difficult that is to do while juggling family and career, but the benefits last a lifetime, right? I love your memory of your mom trying your sour jellies, it’s memories like this that warm our hearts.

    I’m returning to blogging tomorrow. I’ve made a few tweaks to the site, let me know what you think! I changed the site title to {grace&whimsy}, sort of slowly manifesting my desire to someday open an Esty shop. : ) Thought I should get ducks in a row when I can! Sending you love!

    1. Hello my dear friend. Yes, friendships should definitely be kept close to the heart and nurtured. I hope you had a lovely evening with your two friends! I bet you had lots to catch up on. I am meeting with a friend on Friday, she is quite a bit younger than me, but we get on so well and she has just found out she is pregnant, so I am beyond happy for her. I cannot wait to hear all her news!

      Your blog looks lovely and I LOVE your new name! I hope you have an Etsy shop, that would be great for your art. I have an Etsy shop, but I haven’t opened it again since my mum died. I did enjoy it, but couldn’t give it the time it needed.

      Lots of love to you too xx

      1. Jane have a wonderful time on Friday! Such wonderful news for your friend! Two of my friends just became grandmothers, I am so happy for them. I’ve known their children since they were toddlers, the time seems to have flown by so quickly and now they are fathers. I didn’t know you had an Etsy shop, do you think you will ever reopen it? ❤

Your thoughts are always welcome...

