this week {words & pictures}

this week - friday 8 april 2016This week, spring seems to have taken a back seat and invited winter take the wheel for a while, it has been wet and cold…brrrr! That said, everything continues as it should, the forsythia blooming {at last} and the birds are busy doing what they do at this time of year.

How are things in your neck of the woods? Good I hope!

I finished the owl drawing and framed it for my dad. He was very pleased. He is in Portugal for a week with friends, which should do him good, although it is his first time there without my mum, so may feel a little strange to begin with. I am sure the sunshine and good food will help.

My week has been busy and I am so glad for the weekend. Tomorrow we are taking Trevor to some training classes to see if he can feel a little happier around other dogs. We will see how that goes…watch this space.

Nothing much more planned for the rest of the weekend, just a lot of relaxing and Sunday promises good weather, so gardening may be a good idea.

If you fancy a bit of creative writing inspiration, Kim has added April’s prompts.

Wishing you a great weekend and hopefully some sunshine!

12 thoughts on “this week {words & pictures}

  1. Jane, your owl turned out wonderfully! I love it. I hope your dad is enjoying his holiday in Portugal; my daughter is spending next week there as well! I think she will be in Lisbon. Good luck with the training classes, Popeye went for some but I have been very negligent about reinforcing what he learned!☺️❤️

    1. Thanks so much, Grace. I am a little out of practice and really ought to draw more, I am going to try to.

      My dad is staying a place called Carvoeiro, a lovely little town with stunning beaches. We went a few times with my mum and dad, it is a lovely place. I hope your daughter has a great stay in Lisbon and what a coincidence!

      The training started off a little rocky, Trevor went for the trainers dog, but she was great about it, a very laid back lady {thank goodness}. All in all by the end of it though I feel it went well…we will see what the next weeks bring.

      I hope you are having a lovely Saturday! xx

      1. Michelle is really enjoying Portugal, Jane. She wrote that she finally feels her whole body and mind relaxing. Training must be quite an eye opener for Trevor, he’s a terrier like our Popeye and you know how terriers are! 🙂

        We had a lovely weekend, we spent two days at an inn in Vermont. We just took it easy, spent time exploring a nearby town and napping a lot! Rob’s recuperation has gone well but he still tires easily. It was nice to be away for a few days. ❤

      2. So glad your daughter is finding Portugal relaxing, my dad is having a great time, too!! We are trying to carry on with training Trevor at home, it is hit and miss, but it was always going to take time. Like you say, terriers!

        How lovely to have a few days away, glad you had a nice time. My husband has had a few back ops and they do take some getting over xx

      3. Jane, it is surprising Rob just how long it is taking. He is still working part time because he tires easily. Did your husband struggle with his back feeling very stiff? Rob is surprised by that. I told him that in time it should ease up…I hope I am right!

      4. It did take a fair bit of time for Simon to get up and about after his ops. I am sure Rob will be feeling better in a week or so…it just takes time xx

      5. That is reassuring to read, Jane! He is going to still work part time this week and then after that he might see if his doctor will let him go back full time. Fingers are crossed! xx

  2. A beautiful collection of photographs, and your owl is wonderful! I’ve been pottering about in the garden a bit this week, but today is gloomy grey and rain rain rain. I’m hoping for some sunshine this weekend too 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Kim! it’s so nice to have potter about the garden, isn’t it. I think the weather is forecast better for tomorrow…fingers crossed. Have a great weekend xx

  3. Jane, oh wow, I’m just catching up with your blog and I am SO impressed by your owl picture. How brilliant! How long did it take you? And I wanted to say that I love your Russian dolls too. As I’m half-Russian I have a soft spot for Russian dolls and I was even inspired by them and they *sort of* got included in a story of mine that was published in ‘The Forgotten and the Fantastical 2’. Oh, and of course I love painting pictures of Russian dolls too. Yours are beautiful – stylish and very chic! Take care and thanks again for the beautiful pictures and sharing your thoughts and day-to-day life. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Marija for your kind words about my owl. It did take quite a while, as I drew it in little bits, I couldn’t say how long accurately, to be honest. I love my Russian dolls, they make me smile every day and they were not at all expensive. I have seen your new book and I will be purchasing a copy, the picture on the front by you is stunning!! Thank you for visiting me here, I love to see your name pop up xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

