this week {words & pictures}

this week - friday 19 february 2016

Hello and how are you, did you have a good week? I hope so.

Do you have snow? We were supposed to, but it never materialised. I wait and hope…

I have been focusing on nature this week, thanks to Michelle’s wonderful course 28 Moments. It has really made me look at everything, not just the usual pretty things nature offers, but the untidy bits too. Sometimes there is so much beauty to be found in the unexpected, the things you would ordinarily overlook…

Other news is, I have officially become a school governor, which is exciting and quite daunting at the same time. I have a lot to learn and I very much look forward to my new role and a bit of a challenge.

Also, I have one of my photographs on the front cover of a just-released book of poetry entitled ‘Echolocation’ by Becky Cherriman. I am so pleased with how it looks and cannot wait for a copy to arrive, not just for the photo, but to read Becky’s work. It is published by Mother’s Milk Books, a small press run by a bloggy friend of mine, Teika.

A happy Friday to you all and wishes for a wonderful weekend x

 

 

9 thoughts on “this week {words & pictures}

  1. Jane, these photos are so, so beautiful. And you know I’m happy having you in class; you are a gem…and I’m thrilled that you’re enjoying the work/process.

    Congrats on your new position as school governor *and* having a photograph on the cover of a published book of poetry. Hurrah on both counts!!!
    xo

  2. Jane, there is so much to celebrate this week! Congratulations on your promotion to school governor! Please tell me more about it, I am not familiar with the term. I know you will rise to this new challenge with your usual grace.

    I’m also so happy to read that your photograph will grace the cover of a book of poetry (like the theme I have going? 🙂 ). Your photographs are the perfect accompaniment to poetry; they speak volumes in their simplicity. I love your work.

    Have a wonderful weekend, dear friend. I hope you and your husband toast your success with champagne! xx

    1. Thank you so much for your kindness, as always!

      School governor is a voluntary role, all schools in the UK have them and we form a governing body. We are primarily there to make sure the school is running as it should, that teaching & learning are good and to hold the head teacher and other senior staff to account, and of course to support them and the school as a whole. The school is in my community, really close to where I live and I just wanted to give something back. So far it has been very interesting and look forward to learning more.

      Thanks again, dear Grace! Have a wonderful weekend xx

      1. Jane, it sounds like a very rewarding position. Is it your son’s school? I really admire you for adding this to your already busy schedule. xx

      2. Yes, it is my son’s school and although he leaves this year I still want to be involved, as it is at the heart of my community. My son has done incredibly well there and is hoping for good results in his exams, but it has a diverse demographic mix and not all students do well. I am hoping to help as much as I am able to make this a better school.

        I hope you are having a great Sunday? Thanks for always being so interested, Grace, it means a lot xx

      3. This has been a wonderful Sunday, we were able to Skype with both Kate and Michelle and will be talking with Mary later this afternoon. 🙂 I’m off to do the week’s shopping, and then hoping to work on some embroidery. xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

