this week {words & pictures}

this week - friday 22 january 2016Hello and how are you? How has your week been?

This week, for me, has been a good one, nothing earth shattering, but good all the same. There have been lots of frosty mornings {which I love} and clear blue wintry skies {which I also love}. Walking Trevor in the morning, before the world awakes, has been great, not sure he would agree however, his poor little paws must have been freezing!

My son purchased a guitar with his birthday money, so there has been strumming and a bit of frustration, but he seems to be getting there. He is a drummer, but fancied a go at another instrument, which I love. His musicality comes from his dad, definitely not me. Much as I love listening to it, there isn’t a musical bone in my body. Although, I did teach myself two lines of Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star last weekend…you have to start somewhere…right??

I have made sure there have been Spring flowers in the house too this week, the hyacinths and tulips I bought last weekend are still going strong and the smell has literally filled the house. What’s your favourite Spring flower?

Tomorrow is the first anniversary of my mum’s death, which is feeling a little surreal. I just cannot believe it has been a year already. We are visiting the Crematorium tomorrow to see the Book of Remembrance and leave some flowers. I know realistically it is just another day, but a year seems so significant. We have all come such a long way in the past twelve months, our lives have changed forever, but I thank my mum every day for teaching me how to be a decent human being.

Well folks, that’s my week, a certain little furry friend needs a walk and there is pizza to be had and horror film to watch soon.

One more thing before I go. If you fancy 28 days of utter loveliness, then sign up for Michelle’s 28 Moments. It is an absolute delight, Michelle puts in so much hard work to make this course what it is and I cannot recommend it enough!

Sending you happiness and wishes for a great weekend, Jane x

 

13 thoughts on “this week {words & pictures}

  1. It doesn’t seem like a year and I think we met around that time. When my mom first died I’d go out for lunch and shopping to honor her. I do the same on my birthday and think of her. Hugs to you, and I love thinking of you walking your pup early in the mornings, so very sweet!!

    1. We did meet at that time, Karen. It’s been lovely having you around this past year and hope there will be many more. Thanks for the hug, my friend…it means a lot. How lovely to honour your mum in such a personal way. Have a wonderful weekend xx

  2. Jane, what a lovely picture of your parents! I am sending you lots of love this weekend! My week has been very crazy, which happens sometimes but the weekend promises to be quiet. I will be thinking of you as you visit your mom. xx

    1. Thank you so much, Grace. I am grateful for your kindness and your friendship. I adore that picture of my mum and dad, so much love and joy in it. I hope you have a great weekend after your crazy week. Much love, Jane xx

  3. Lovely pictures Jane, warm thoughts to you at this time of year.
    Lilac is probably my favourite spring flower – such a wonderful scent. But also tulips, and daffodils and… and…too many to mention 🙂

  4. thinking of you today Jane, and I can think of no greater credit for a parent than that they raised their children into decent human beings, what a lovely thing to be able to say. wishing you another lovely week x

Your thoughts are always welcome...

