this week {words & pictures}

this week - friday 2 october 2015

For me this week has gone very fast…how about you? Blink and I might have missed it. I cannot believe October is here already {sure I must say the same thing every year} but really…the 10th month, already? Soon be Christmas at this rate {sorry!}.

We have had foggy mornings and golden-lit evenings most days. I have been fascinated by all the spiders webs on my morning walks, hung with pearls from the damp air. My poor feet don’t know what is happening…I have started the day in boots and ended in sandals!

We have friends coming later for the evening, I cannot wait…the cake you see in the photos is for dessert, it’s an Apple and Double Cream Loaf. The recipe is from one of my favourite magazines, Landscape which is full of wonderful articles on gardening, crafts animals and much more…I love it.

The lanterns you see are from my dad’s {and mum’s} garden, I have some for the house every year…they are a true reminder that Autumn is here and this year a reminder of my lovely mum, in her birthday month.

I do hope you have had a good week?

If you would like to share your own words and pictures, then please do. You can either share in comments or link to your blog.

If you are on twitter, you can share there too…use #wordspictures or #thisweek

You can find me on twitter, here… @WSmostlywriting

 

15 thoughts on “this week {words & pictures}

  1. Have a lovely evening with your friends, Jane! I love entertaining. The lanterns are gorgeous, it’s wonderful to have a reminder of your mum during her birthday month. May your memories of her bring you comfort. Sending you love! xx

  2. Thank you, Grace. They are such good friends and we always laugh a lot, so it should be a good evening. It’s my mum’s birthday on the 11th, she would have been 73. The lanterns will always remind me of her. I LOVE your new header image, so beautiful. Have a wonderful weekend xx

  3. Love the photos. So much beauty, as usual. I agree, time has whizzed by too fast! (And the cake looks delicious btw.)
    Sending you extra hugs for October, your mum’s birthday month. A bittersweet time.
    All the best, xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

