Breathing

Forsythia 1

How many times do you catch yourself almost holding your breath? I do, all the time. I know my breathing is quite shallow most of the time, so being a slightly anxious type, I also know this is not helpful.

It is hard to always be conscious of your breathing, but I feel this could be the key to a calmer mind and body. The incredibly kind and lovely Michelle has recently given some guidance on breathing as part of her wonderful course 28 Moments {I would wholeheartedly advise joining in the next one…it is amazing} and I did begin a little breathing routine from this. Alas, like many things, life got in the way and I had stopped {silly girl!}.

However, after joining in Intention for 7 {a free and really fantastic course, also from Michelle} she has encouraged me to take up the breathing practice again. This time I am going to try to weave it into my daily life, so it hopefully becomes second nature {I even managed to have a little covert session in the bathroom at work today}.

I am totally convinced that I am feeling the benefits already, as my day has been much calmer than many of late.

Now then…dinner is finished, the pots are washed, I have a spare 15 minute slot…time to breath!

8 thoughts on “Breathing

  1. Jane, hooray! I know you can do it! 🙂 Breathe in, breathe out, repeat. Thich Nhat Hanh has a lovely book called “Peace is Every Breath”, I highly recommend it! I also love his book, “Peace is Every Step”. Have a lovely evening! xo

  2. love this post, I am learning much about myself through this min course! My intention is being mindful and I’ve been and it’s shedding light to many areas of my life that need a bit of sprucing.

    1. Thanks, Karen! So glad the course is helping you too, Michelle is such a lovely and warm person, isn’t she, and it is so wonderful to be part of such great group of women. Happy Friday and have a great weekend xx

  3. Hi Jane, I’m taking part in Michelle’s intention for 7 too! …and my intention is breathing. Let’s learn to breath together. 😃

    This is such a wonderful group to be a part of. Michelle’s guidance has helped me so much!

Your thoughts are always welcome...

