The letter

The letter

 I took it with me in my pocket, that day.

Just me, the letter and the howling wind, together on that hill.

I knew what it said without ever reading a word. I knew what tenderness there would be, what pain; and as the wind howled louder, drowning out the sound of my heart breaking, I tore at your words like a wild animal, shredded every one and set you free, on that hill.

Writing along with December prompts from writealm using today’s prompt ‘missive’.

5 thoughts on “The letter

    1. Thank you so much Michelle for your kindness : ) Sometimes words just come from way down within. I have been a bit stilted with my writing lately but it feels so good when they flow xx

    1. You are right, quite a lot of pent-up emotion I think, Amanda. It felt good to let it out and to write xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

