My heart aches

I held you in the darkness, so small, so wonderful and so mine. I stood and rocked you when you cried, sometimes I cried a little too, when I was tired. I listened to you in the darkness, a lullaby of tiny breaths, your skin soft like velvet, a perfect hand curled around my finger and my heart ached with love for you.

I hold you now, you are grown, more wonderful and still mine, but with wings unfolding. We talk about nothing and everything, sometimes we cry laughing, you are my joy. I listen to you now, your voice, almost a man’s, your hands bigger than mine and my heart aches with love for you.

It always will.

Inspired by Writealm’s prompt from yesterday ‘lullaby’.

Your thoughts are always welcome...

