A sonnet of sorts

Sonnet

I was going to write a pretty sonnet

So I sat pen in hand raring to go.

But I just couldn’t seem to focus on it

I tried, but the words wouldn’t flow.

The poem I had planned to write

Had somehow disappeared; gone

So there I sat in writer’s plight

Without a word, a line; not one.

I wanted to write of nature’s beauty

Or a delicate declaration of love;

A rhyming poem not pleasure but duty

As you see from all the above.

So here it is my very first try

   A sonnet of sorts…now I bid you goodbye.

I am not a big lover of rhyming poetry…sonnets and such, more of a free verse kinda gal, but I wanted to give it a go. It’s a bit silly but I enjoyed it!

Shakespeare would be proud…not!

Joining in with writealm’s July prompt-a-day

today’s prompt is ‘rain-drenched’

4 thoughts on “A sonnet of sorts

  1. Well done, it’s certainly a challenge isn’t it? Love the ‘So there I sat in writer’s plight’ line. I can really identify with that sentiment!

    1. Thanks Ellie! It was a bit of a slog but I managed it…sonnets are definitely not my thing!! : ))

Your thoughts are always welcome...

