Into the wilderness

Into the wilderness

Amidst the rocks

and long, sun-faded grass

we would walk;

an adventure to be had.

~

Stopping only

when our bellys growled

then onward into the wilderness

climbing to the highest point.

~

We would survey our land

with the late summer sun

hot on our freckled cheeks

the whole world before us.

~

This is a place that

has stayed in my heart

memories planted deep

food for a youthful soul.

Two subjects I love to write about are memories and nature…they really inspire me, so every Friday I will post either a poem, prose, story or a photograph with perhaps a few words based on one of these two subjects.

If you wish to join in, then please leave a link in comments or use the hashtag #MemoriesNature on Twitter or alternatively leave a comment on my Facebook page, whichever suits you best.

Writing memories and nature every Friday…the kettle is on.

3 thoughts on “Into the wilderness

  1. Sorry I didn’t make it in time for tea… any biscuits left?? :))

    Love this photo of sun flare. Your words impart a fond and cherished memory of a childhood blessed with being able to play out in the wilds alongside nature. ❤ xx

    1. Custard Creams okay?

      I had a wonderful childhood we were always outside. My parents worked very hard and we weren’t particularly well-off but they made sure we had trips out and lovely summer holidays…I admire them so much for that and thank them : ) It has taught me to do the same for my son xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

