Writing memories & nature

eggs

Two things I love to write about are memories and nature…they are subjects that really inspire me, so every Friday I will post either a poem, prose or story based on one of these two subjects. Today’s is a memory poem and I hope you enjoy it.

Staying with Nan

~

The swoosh of nighttime traffic

transient, intermittent;

soothing.

Headlights trace the wall

briefly illuminating the room.

The frill on the pillowcase

between my fingers

and the smell of her perfume;

comforting.

A soft bed

where sleep is easily found.

Then, a kiss on the brow,

‘Time for sleep now,

we have eggs to buy tomorrow

and a cake to bake.’

If  you would like to join in every Friday it would be lovely to have some company!

I’ll put the kettle on.

6 thoughts on “Writing memories & nature

    1. Thanks so much for your comment! I used to love staying there as a child…we had some good times giving me some great memories : ))

  1. What a great idea Jane, to write about memories and nature each Friday. Had you thought about maybe using a #hashtag so others could join in with you on Fridays if they wished?

    Love the memories you have of staying with your Nan as a child, so beautifully recounted in your poem.

    1. Thanks so much Ellie, have used your hashtag idea : )) It was such a lovely house they had and then they moved to a damp bungalow…I remember being a bit sad : ( But still, many happy memories to keep : )

  2. Lovely poem and what a lovely idea. Memories and nature are two of my favourite things so I’d love to keep you company. 🙂

Your thoughts are always welcome...

