Breathe

breathe

What will I do

when I can’t

see you sleeping?

When I open your door

late at night

and you are not there.

What will I do

when I can’t

see you smiling?

When I open you door

in the morning

and you are not there.

What will I do

when I can’t

hold you close?

When I reach for you

next to me

and you are not there.

What will I do

when my nest is empty,

what will I do?

 I will breathe a heavy sigh

and I will be sad

but I will know I did my very best.

Learning, writing and connecting with May prompt-a-day from Writealm; today’s prompt is ‘breathe’

8 thoughts on “Breathe

  1. Jane, I really love this… you and I will be facing this at the same time…we just have to do our best now and trust that they are going to be okay! (easier said than done!) I hope you are doing well! We have a week and a half left of school…can’t wait for summer! xoxo Elizabeth

    1. Thanks Elizabeth! I am doing great thanks…I hope you are too? Yes, we can coach each other through it!!! Wow, only a week and a half until summer break, J has about 6 weeks to go yet! I am really looking forward to it as I have lots of time off work to spend at home : )) We go to Scotland for a holiday in August too! Do you have a holiday planned? xxx

  2. 6 more weeks… that feels so long, but you will make it! Scotland sounds wonderful. We have a new minister at our church and he is from Scotland. I could listen to him all day long! We are going to Isle of Palms, South Carolina with my family this summer! xoxo

    1. We will! The Scottish accent is wonderful…do you know where in Scotland your minister is from? Isle of Palms sounds amazing Elizabeth…we have good things to look forward to xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

