The almost sound of silence

Wrapped in those quiet times

between dark and light

with you held close;

sleeping

and me, tired, but still awake

in the almost sound of silence.

Your tiny breaths,

in and out,

and my heart beating;

filled to the brim.

The almost sound of silence

that sat, sometimes,

on the brink of lonely,

but for you,

and your milky cheeks

and your clutching fingers

wrapped round mine.

You needing me

and me needing you

in the almost sound of silence.

Learning, writing and connecting with May prompt-a-day from Writealm; today’s prompt is ‘the sound of silence’

 

4 thoughts on “The almost sound of silence

  1. This is just so incredibly beautiful, moving and touching Jane – a wonderful expression of those early, precious, days of motherhood.

    After a gap away {a bit of a drought inspiration wise} I’m hoping words will come back to me. I’m taking a photography course entitled ‘Keeping It Simple’ and I need to apply it to daily life too I think! xx 🙂

    1. Elie, that means so much to me, thank you! Hope the dry spell ends soon…it’s frustrating isn’t it? Your course sounds exciting, hope you enjoy it. Keeping it simple sounds a good idea…a mantra for life! xxx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

