Good times

my daddy has paid the rent
and the insurance man is gone
and the lights is back on
and my uncle brud has hit
for one dollar straight
and they is good times
good times
good times

my mama has made bread
and grampaw has come
and everybody is drunk
and dancing in the kitchen
and singing in the kitchen
of these is good times
good times
good times

oh children think about the
good times

Lucille Clifton

~
I haven’t had much time to write today, so instead of my own writing, I thought I would share this really great poem by Lucille Clifton. Such a wonderful ode to good times and a reminder to enjoy them and not take anything for granted. A roof over your head, food on the table, time with family…simple, necessary, everyday things but more than worthy of celebration. Let the good times roll!
Writing along with prompt-a-day over at write alm; today’s promt is ‘laissez les bon temps rouler’.
Your thoughts are always welcome...

