Warm milk

I hear the bed creek in the room above me. It’s not the creek of someone turning in sleep, but that of someone who cannot find slumber. I sit, quietly tapping on the iPad…another creek. I rise from my chair and walk through to the kitchen. I take the milk out of the fridge, a cup from the cupboard. Warm milk…your nighttime friend…I take it up to you, knowing it will be welcomed.

I open the door and your eyes squint, the light, bright after an hour of sleepless dark. Of course, you know I have brought you warm milk. You smile a comforted smile and say, ‘thank you, you are kind.’ I smile back as you put your hand on my shoulder and drink. Then, with a warm belly and warm hearts, we cuddle and say goodnight.

You lay back down, ready now, for sleep.

2 Replies to “Warm milk”

Your thoughts are always welcome...

Tea & Paper

Moments of Joy

April Coady Poetry

Life is adventure, poetry and love.

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, photography and a creative life

Angela Topping

Poet and Educator

Buone Storie & Corse

Parti, osserva, fermati, scatta. Riparti!

Geen Geenie

Writer & Artist Bridgeen Gillespie

Michelle GD

tiny moments (and everything in between)

Loving Leisure Time

This is how I spend my quality free time...

Lonestar Lauren

Life and travels of a native Texan.

UnseenLamhey

"Our Internal Depiction is complex yet original."

Wild Soul Grace

staying present : living and dying

Joshi Daniel Photography

Photoblog of Joshi Daniel

Hands on Bowie & Jimi

You know, it's cool for cats.