Left unsaid

My heart was ripped from my chest

Those words distant yet deafening,

Hitting me in the stomach

Like a million punches.

~

Even sat down, my legs buckled beneath me,

This ugliness was inside me.

There was no escape;

No hiding place.

~

When I thought I might die

I wanted you to know,

That every minute of every day

I loved you.

~

That having you, changed everything.

I couldn’t leave,

Not now, I had so much to tell you.

So many memories waiting to be made with you.

~

You were only young when the monster came.

I hid it from you with normality,

Protected you from its roar;

All my fears, left unsaid.

Writing, growing, learning and connecting with February prompt-a-day over at write alm; today’s is ‘left unsaid’.

4 thoughts on “Left unsaid

Your thoughts are always welcome...

