Seek wonder

Scotland

The simple wonder on a child’s face is one of the most beautiful things on this earth. So natural is it to a child, like breathing, part of their very being; curiosity so strong.

Looking up at the sky with wide-eyes, not yet used to the ordinariness of the passing clouds of life. Everything fresh, a new experience, unencumbered by the weight of adulthood.

Oh, to carry the wonder of a child with you all of your life, that pure joy filling your every fibre. But, although we are heavy with responsibility there are still glimpses of this joy.

It is not lost. It is in a glorious sunset, the sound of the sea, the world through the eyes of your own child. Found in the fabric of life if only we choose to remember; to seek wonder.

Youth is happy because it has the ability to see beauty. Anyone who keeps the ability to see beauty never grows old ~ Franz Kafka

Writing, growing, learning and connecting with February prompt-a-day over at write alm; today’s is ‘seek wonder’.

4 thoughts on “Seek wonder

  1. This is so lovely and true! Sometimes we get in such a hurry…I do not like missing wonderful moments because we are grown ups and have too many thinks to keep track of. I went for a walk with my boy today. He stayed home from school today because he did not feel well, but by this afternoon, he was better and the sun was out, so we walked and talked. And I tried to soak up every bit of his happiness…and he is getting so tall. When he laughs, I can see under his chin now…it is a whole new wonderful picture to remember!
    I know you have taught your son to treasure beauty on this earth…you are a good mama!
    xoxo, Elizabeth

    1. What a wonderful memory to share with your boy and oh how they grow Elizabeth…so fast! I know you are an amazing mama too who adores her two wonderful children. I am glad W feels better. How are you lovely lady? Good I hope xxxx

  2. Thank you so much! I am doing well. I went on an overnight field trip with my daughters class last week. We stayed in cabins and it reminded me of my days as a camp counselor. Ghost stories told by the glow of flashlights. Thank you for asking how I am. Life has been so busy lately…for too long now. I am trying to figure out how to let some things go. There are so many good things happening and I don’t want to miss these precious moments. I hope you have a happy week ahead! I am very thankful for you! xoxo Elizabeth

    1. That sounds like it was very special, Elizabeth. Sometimes things have to be given up to make way for something better…I know you will work out a way : ) I am very thankful for you too, my lovely friend xx

Your thoughts are always welcome...

