Shadow play

Shadow

I felt like a shadow

a grey outline that no-one noticed

while you basked

in the glory of the sun.

I assumed the role

I played the shadow

but that’s not what I was

it’s not what I am.

I am a whole and rounded being

who will not be hidden from the sun

I will stand in its golden glow

because I AM NOT A SHADOW.

Written for anyone who, like me, has played (or is playing) the shadow…our time in the sun always comes.

February prompt-a-day from writealm; today’s is ‘shadow play’ 

4 thoughts on “Shadow play

Your thoughts are always welcome...

