Eight am

February 2013 230

Eight am in the morning and the minor whirlwind has subsided. Lunch is packed for my boy, tea has been made, breakfast is being eaten…shoes need a clean and teeth too.

I sip my tea to the clinking of spoon on bowl…glancing at my boy in his new glasses I think how grown up he looks. ‘You look great in your new specs,’ I say. He smiles.

We chat about his school day ahead and how he hates having maths for the last lesson on Friday because his brain is fried by then. I sympathise…maths was never my thing.

‘Time to brush your teeth.’

‘OK.’ my boy says and off he goes.

Looking through the grey gap in the curtains there is no promise of sun, just rain. But, that’s okay it’s cosy and warm inside and there is plenty to be done.

I hear the low buzzing of an electric tooth-brush and wonder how we got such a lovely teenager…I smile.

The last day of January prompt-a-day with write alm; today’s prompt is ‘8 o’clock’

Happy Friday : )

Jane

6 thoughts on “Eight am

  1. Just such a lovely glimpse into your life! I, too, am lucky to have stellar teens! Love the energy they bring to our world. Have a nice weekend!

Your thoughts are always welcome...

